Tyrone’s Betrayal (Roosevelt High School Series)


by Gloria Velasquez

ISBN: 978-1-55885-465-9
Publication Date: 2006
Bind: Trade Paperback
Pages: 160
Ages: 11 and up

Look Inside


In stock

“Not again,” Tyrone thinks as loud, angry voices wake him up in the middle of the night. Looking down at his parents from the stairway, Tyrone can tell that his father has had too much to drink. Drinking and fighting are nothing new, but this time, Tyrone’s dad leaves and doesn’t come back. As the weeks pass and they don’t hear from him, Tyrone’s anger at his father’s desertion finds an outlet through violent eruptions at school. Life at home is no better as his mother begins working a night job to pay the bills. She expects Tyrone, the eldest, to be the “man of the house,” a responsibility Tyrone doesn’t want. Instead of taking care of his younger siblings he starts partying with older kids, skipping school, and sneaking home in the early morning hours. But when his younger brother is caught stealing candy at the corner store, Tyrone realizes that he will have to take on the responsibility whether he wants to or not. Settling in to his new role as the head of the household, Tyrone is furious when he learns that his father wants to come home. He just doesn’t understand how his mother can forgive his father so easily. And how can she believe his promises to change and quit drinking? With the help of his friends and counselor Dr. Martinez, Tyrone begins to deal with his feelings of anger and betrayal as the son of an alcoholic, absentee father. But will he ever accomplish his dreams of going to college and becoming an engineer? Tyrone’s Betrayal is the seventh novel in Gloria Velasquez’s popular Roosevelt High School series, which features a multiracial group of teenaged students who must individually confront social and cultural issues (such as violence, sexuality, and prejudice) that young adults face today.


“…the author does a nice job of giving readers a window into the culture and providing some positive role models.”–Booklist on Maya’s Divided World

“…the characters and situations are true to life…This book would be an excellent choice for classroom discussions and for reading groups.”–VOYA on Teen Angel

“Informative and believable enough to aid readers in similar situations and well-written enough to entertain and enlist the compassion of those who aren’t.”–Kirkus Reviews on Rina’s Family Secret

“The credible characters along with the well-developed…plot also make for entertaining and inspiring reading. [This series] provides not only positive role models but also constructive ideas for resolving social and cultural issues often facing multiracial teens.”–VOYA

GLORIA VELÁSQUEZ is an award-winning writer of poetry and fiction. She is the author of two poetry collections, I Used to Be a Superwoman (1997) and Xicana on the Run (2006), and the Roosevelt High School Series: Tommy Stands Tall (2013), Rudy’s Memory Walk (2009), Tyrone’s Betrayal (2006), Teen Angel (2003), Ankiza (2000), Rina’s Family Secret (1998), Maya’s Divided World (1995), Tommy Stands Alone (1995), and Juanita Fights the School Board (1994), all from Piñata Books. Velásquez is currently a professor in the Modern Languages and Literatures Department at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, California.
Learn more at gloriavelasquez.com.

Accelerated Reader Quiz #110766 | ATOS English: 5.5 | ATOS Interest Level: Upper Grade